

February 28, 2020

Senator Hobbs and Representative Fey:

We the undersigned write to thank you for your work in addressing our state's transportation revenue shortfall. Even before the impacts of Initiative 976, we faced billions of dollars of needs to address fish passage barriers, fund preservation and maintenance of our roads, construct new ferries, grow multimodal transportation options, and build projects of statewide significance such as the Columbia River Crossing and the US 2 trestle. Initiative 976 only made these challenges harder.

We are committed to working with you to achieve a state transportation revenue package in 2021 to address these needs. We welcome the consideration of multiple options, including an increase in the motor vehicle fuel tax, a road usage charge, a carbon tax on transportation fuels, systemwide tolling, and an economywide cap-and-invest program.

We also are committed to making significant progress on reducing harmful greenhouse gas emissions across our economy, but particularly in the transportation fuel sector, which is by far the largest source of greenhouse gas emissions in Washington and the only major sector in which this Legislature has not enacted meaningful policies.

We see passage of a clean fuel standard (E2SHB 1110) or authority to reduce emissions from fossil fuels (SB 6628) as a precondition to the passage of a transportation revenue package. As urgent as our transportation infrastructure needs are, the climate crisis is also urgent. We owe it to current and future generations of Washingtonians to begin on a trajectory to decarbonize the transportation sector before it is too late.

We understand that passage of both a transportation revenue package and a bold step forward to reduce transportation emissions in the same legislative session may be difficult. However, we hope you will consider E2SHB 1110 and/or SB 6628, both of which would make the policy enforcement contingent upon the passage of a transportation revenue package that raises no less than \$2 billion per biennium for transportation needs.

Thank you for your dedication to our state's prosperity and our future.

Sincerely,

Derek Stanford

State Senator, 1st Legislative District

Sam Hunt

State Senator, 22nd Legislative District

Clavie men

Claire Wilson

State Senator, 30th Legislative District

Jesse Salomor

Jesse Solomon

State Senator, 32nd Legislative District

Lau Leur

Karen Keiser

State Senator, 33rd Legislative District

Joe Nguyen

State Senator, 34th Legislative District

Kemy Carlyl

Reuven Carlyle

State Senator, 36th Legislative District

John McCoy

State Senator, 38th Legislative District

fiz Frelitt

Liz Lovelett

State Senator, 40th Legislative District

Lisa Wellman

State Senator, 41st Legislative District

David Frockt

State Senator, 46th Legislative District

Mona Das

State Senator, 47th Legislative District

Patty Grahuer

Patty Kuderer

State Senator, 48th Legislative District

CC: Speaker Jinkins, Rep. Fitzgibbon, Sen. Billig, Sen. Liias, Sen. Saldaña, Sen. Dhingra