Salem, OR

Salem is the capital of Oregon, and the county seat of Marion County. Founded in 1842, it was the capital of the Oregon Territory as early as 1851. With 155,000 residents, it is the second largest city in Oregon after Portland.

The New Energy Cities group teamed up with ECONorthwest in the fall of 2009 to help the City of Salem, OR develop its energy efficiency goals for the Department of Energy.

At a Workshop on December 1, 2009, we brought together elected, civic, business, and nonprofit leaders with educators, utilities, state and county agency representatives, developers, lenders, and bankers to facilitate agreement on goals and discussion about strategies to achieve the community's energy objectives.

Give for a brighter future


Join our email list to learn about what we do and how to get involved.